jump to navigation

Good morning! May 16, 2007

Posted by jonpierson in Uncategorized.
trackback

I thought I’d add another post just because I have ready access to a computer. 

We’re prepping this morning for last minute shopping at REI and the grocery store, and later this afternoon we’ll be departing Alb. for Las Cruzes, NM.  We’ll be spending the night there, and then Thursday morning it’s on to Antelope Wells to meet the rest of the riders.  The only reason why Antelope Wells is a town is because it has a border crossing.  So Thursday at 12:00 I will have my rear wheel in Mexico, and my front wheel in the rafael1.jpg United States.  That will be a first!  I’ve never bike toured internationally..

 My stay here in Albuquerque has been great.  Jim and Diane have been wonderful hosts.  They have a beautiful home and a very lovely family. 

 To the left is a picture of their son Rafael holding up a card that he made  for me wishing me luck on my trip!

jonandrafael.jpg

  He’s 6 and full of energy.  As you can imagine, we get along pretty well! 

 I also wanted to mention that I will be updating this page as often as I can.  Sometimes that will be 1-2 times a week, but I also know there will be stretches where I can’t access a computer for a week or two at a time.  During those stretches, I am planning on calling my dad and he will update this blog for me with my location and a highlight or two. 

 So check back in often to keep up to date on my progress towards my ultimate goal…. CANADA!!!

Comments»

1. GRANDMA AND GRANDPA - May 16, 2007

DEAR JON

WE WISH YOU GOOD LUCK AND A SAFE TRIP. YOU ARE A GREAT GUY AND WE LOVE YOU DEARLY. PLEASE BE VERY CAREFUL DURING YOUR TRIP.

WE LOOK FORWARD TO SEE YOU THIS SUMMER AT THE LAKE.

2. Jen Pierson - May 17, 2007

Good luck Jon! You’ve inspired me to get on my bike for the first time in way too long haha 🙂
Have a good trip.

3. Leslie Pierson - May 18, 2007

You are my hero. I know you think I gave you all the good stuff that made you who you are, and now you are giving back to me by acting the way you do. You are amazing and I love all your enthusiasm, strength, positivity, sensibility and sensitivity. Be safe and call as often as you can. email too. I don’t worry because I know you can take care of yourself.

love all the mountain goats, peanuts, scotch tape dispensers and cell phones

4. Leslie Pierson - May 22, 2007

Update on your family: Danny left today for London. Going to Spain almost immediately from London, hoping to see Yatzik – remember Robbie’s friend from High School – he is living in Spain doing a master’s degree. Then he is planning on hiking the Pyranee’s mountains which go through France and Spain. Then hopefully he will meet up with Matt (bf from high school) who is also traveling in Europe this summer. he is really hoping to meet Matt so he can celebrate his birthday with someone from home. Then on to Prague for a six week semester at the university there.

Lizzy is busy with a gazillion things. art classes, baby sign language classes, end of year stuff with her first graders and of course WEDDING.

Robbie is going to Egypt and Israel in August.

I’m going out to Richmond next weekend to spend with Lizzie and Greg. I’m making her a bridal shower. (Can’t believe I am the MOTHER OF THE BRIDE) Also going to Cape Cod with Lizzie (just the two of us) for a whole week in July. You know how I love traveling with you guys.

Everyone else in family constantly asking about you and I’m telling them to read your blog (which I personally love)

I’m really proud of you (but that’s an old story)

love all the french fries, mouse pads, sockets and paper clips.
Ma

5. Leslie Pierson - June 11, 2007

it was great to talk with you yesterday. I’m glad you got the package and if all you weren’t able to use was the coffee, I’m thinking I sent a good one. I thought I was your hero? When did Lizzie move up? and why?

Job is good. garden is great – lots of pretty flowers. Veg co-op going great too. Looking forward to fourth in Cape Cod with Lizzie, Robbie says no to joining us because he doesn’t have enough time but maybe he’ll change his mind. Lucy is coming too! Let me know all your dates for mail packages. I have some special things in mind.

love
ma


Leave a Reply

