jump to navigation

Day 54: Lincoln, MT July 10, 2007

Posted by jonpierson in Uncategorized.
trackback

Hello everyone!

 I am taking a day or two of rest here in Lincoln.  This past week has been a tough one.  A fall, a ruined wheel, a sore back, 7 flats, a broken rack, and now a cold!  Ouch.  I am trying to not let all of these events break my spirit, but it is hard.  I have just over 300 more miles in the US and then 220 in Canada.  The thought has entered my mind that perhaps I should skip Canada.  That would allow me more rest time right now, which I really do need. 

Right now I have 12 more days to complete the whole trail, which means I’m looking at 40-50 miles of riding per day.  On a good day, that’s no problem.  In fact, I’ve gotten my total weight so low, that I could probably do even more.  But I can only do that when feeling well.  The past 2 days have been perhaps the hardest of the entire trip.  It’s been hard for me to ride up the passes here in Montana.  They are super steep, and take a lot out of you regardless.  Yesterday I had no choice but to hitch up Stemple Pass, just to make sure I’d be able to ride this morning into Lincoln and get to a motel asap.  I am starting to feel better already, and am actually looking foward to a break from the bike. 

One exciting announcement..  Northern Arizona University may publish a short article about my ride!  That would be awesome.  Who knows, if they cover it, maybe the AZ Daily Sun would be interested as well!  This could go national!  Well, I don’t know about that, but it would be cool to receive a little press, especially right now during the “home stretch.”  It would certainly give me a moral booster!  Updates on that to come.

I do have phone service, so any friends or family wishing to call me SHOULD!  I would love to hear from you. 

Thanks to everyone who reads this page and keeps up with my trip.  And a special thanks to those who take the time to leave a comment.  I love reading them, and believe me, they make a difference. 

Comments»

1. Leslie Pierson - July 10, 2007

Oh, my. tough one. either way, you are a winner in my book and in everyone else’s. what you have done is remarkable. lots of pros and cons on this one. You’ll make the right choice on this one because you are a smart one. I’m proud of everything you do.

love
ma

2. Liz - July 11, 2007

Jonny boy:
I’m so glad you got yourself a motel, as Bubbie says- you need to take care of yourself, “her kind of care.” Which always sounds kind of strange when she says it, but we all know what she means. It was so great to catch up this morning on the phone, I can’t wait to catch up in person in a couple of weeks. You are a super star, and whatever you do, won’t change the fact that YOU ROCK! I’m so proud of you, you are one mighty cool little brother.
(Danny, if you are reading this, don’t fret, you are mighty cool too. I hope you are having a great time and I can’t wait to hear all about your travels. What a strange one am I, writing to Dan through Jon’s blog! Go figure.)
Back to you Jon, rest up, and when you are feeling better, get back on that bike & ride like the rockster you are. And when you don’t want to ride any more stop. This trip is what you make of it, and I’m sure you don’t need goofy old me to tell you that. You need to be in tip top shape come August 12 when your big sis ties the knot. I hope you, Rob & Dan are thinking about the toast you are going to make at the wedding. Jennie has been hired as the official proof reader, so you guys better start writing so you can pass it on to her to make sure nothing to crazy comes out in that speech.
I guess I’ve rambled on enough here, I’ll call you soon kiddo. Feel better, ride safe, ride strong and rock on!

3. leslie pierson - July 11, 2007

message to the four. how much do i love you and how proud am i of all of you and what did i get out of this? you all know the answer.

4. dan - July 11, 2007

finish strong, homey. we have a couple of open bars coming up to sooth any sore muscles. And if you decide to skip Canada, if you have the cash/time, you should check out Jasper and Banff, they’re both beautiful. Buen Viaje!

5. Phyllis & Richard - July 11, 2007

Hey Jon,
Glad you’ve given yourself permission to take a much needed break! Think it gets the toughest when you are close to the finish!

Will be elated to see you get some Press Coverage…you truly deserve the recognition…wish we had the knowledge to have sent some our “music” on to you…but techno-challeneged we are…Would like to see “The Blog” turned into a printed tome…so see what you might do with it when the ride is complete and you’ve had a chance to catch up with the rest of the world…Hang Tough…Godspeed!!!

You are truly an encouragement that young people everywhere CAN LIVE THEIR DREAMS!!!!

6. Harry Pierson - July 12, 2007

Jon,

I’ve loaded up the Sansa with 5 GIGS of music, pretty much every artist you asked for.

TONS of Johnny Cash, Ray Charles, etc. plus some top drawer classical (which you didn’t ask for, but I could only put music I “owned” on the 1Gig micro SD card, so in addition to the Beatles, Otis Redding, Marvin Gaye and the Doors, I filled the rest of the card with Mozart Quintets, Beethoven and Brahms.) The other 4 GIGs is ONLY the music you asked for.

20 hours on a charge, a recharger awaiting in Whitefish. I’ll send out the player tomorrow AM after we confirm where you want it sent.

Stay strong! This is just the fuel you need!

Love,

Dad

7. Harry Pierson - July 12, 2007

Jon,

How do you figure you have only 12 days left?

Even counting to July 30, today is only July 12, giving you about 18 days! Could you have looked at the wrong week on the calendar?

You’re going to make it for sure!

Love,

Dad

8. Art Mandler, Asheville, NC - July 12, 2007

Hi Jon — Our company just installed Internet service for your dad, and he told us about your adventure. I’m a mountain biker myself, and I have tremendous respect for your determination. I’m reminded of this favorite quote from Calvin Coolidge:

“Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent. The slogan, ‘Press on,’ has solved and always will solve the problems of the human race.”
— Calvin Coolidge.

Extraordinary people survive under the most terrible circumstances and they become more extraordinary because of it.
— Robertson Davies.

I hope you will find the strength to press on a bit beyond what you think you can do, and that you find a new piece of yourself there.

Blessings

9. Savannah Sydney - July 12, 2007

Hello!

I just read about your ride in Inside NAU!

Your altruism and desire to give back is incredibly inspiring. What a journey! I will be donating to the Yoder Scholarship fund in your name.

You’re a an inspiring model to others. I hope your story does go national!

KEEP PEDALING!

S.R. Sydney

10. Marilyn - July 12, 2007

Dear Jon,

My name is Marilyn Allen and I am a study abroad advisor here at NAU and read about your bike ride for the Yoder Memorial Foundation Scholarship.

I had the honor of working with Kristen when she studied abroad through our NAU program to the south island of New Zealand. You mentioned in your article that you had never met Kristen so I wanted to share with you a little bit about her. I have sent hundreds of students abroad but Kristen was a person that once you met her you could never forget her. I always said to myself and to her that I wanted to live my life like she does with compassion and enthusiasm. She loved the outdoors! I always saw her in Tinsley Hall, where she lived and I work with some outdoor paraphernalia headed out for another outdoor adventure. She had found a passion in her life with the outdoors and with finding that passion she lived life with the most incredible happiness that I had ever seen. She was never afraid to ask questions and had a sense of wonder about the world around her. After she studied in New Zealand she came back to NAU to finish her degree and also helped me promote study abroad to New Zealand. When she arrived at my meetings, students were so attracted to her and without fail I always sent more students to New Zealand after she had done a presentation. Kristen was a dreamer but at the same time realistic in how to make her dreams come true.

In closing, Kristen would love what you are doing and I am sure in some shape or form she is riding with you and cheering you on. You could not have done a more appropriate thing in Kristen’s honor. I never had the pleasure of meeting Kristen’s brother but from what I hear from my colleague he had the same passion for the outdoors as Kristen had. Just the other day as I was walking down the hall in Tinsley, I thought of her and wished I could see her smiling face and now with the article about your bike ride I am most sure that she is here in spirit.

I would love to meet you and hear of your adventures so please come by and see me once you return to NAU.

Sincerely
Marilyn

Marilyn Allen
Program Coordinator, Study Abroad
Center for International Education
Northern Arizona University
1 (928) 523-8337 (MST)/FAX (928) 523-9489
http://home.nau.edu/international/
NAU Box 5598
Flagstaff AZ 86011
USA
Office Hours: 8-3 M-F
Walk in Office hour daily from 1-2

11. sara - July 12, 2007

Hello Jon!

My name is Sara Dillavou and I work with Marilyn Allen at the Center for International Education at NAU. I think what you are doing is fantastic way to honor Kristen and Dustin, and perfectly in line with what they stood for in life. Way to go! Keep it up!

Also, here is a crazy connection for you. I am originally from Helena, MT and I used to live with Steve in Missoula, MT. In fact, Steve’s dad was also my eye doctor! My husband Ben also used to work at Great Divide. If you see Steve again, please say hello to him for me!

Best wish and safe travels!
Sara

12. Dicuouddy - October 5, 2007

I’ve got an Amazon gift certificate burning holes in my pocket,
and I want to get the most bang for my buck.

Enter the Secret Amazon Web Pages:

http://tinyurl.com/38sojf

This is where you’re going to find the “latest sales, rebates, and limited-time offers” from
Amazon, and you can score some pretty deep discounts if you’re a savvy shopper.

Next, there’s the special Sale link. This is open every Friday, and ONLY on Fridays.

You can find the same good discounts here as you would in hidden Deals, although some
Fridays you can really get lucky and make off like an Amazon bandit – I’ve seen discounts
there as low as 75% off sticker price.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

